Balancing Life

(Photo from Pinterest)

(Photo from Pinterest)


When I was still a fresh graduate, all I wanted to do was to land a job and perform as best as I can in order to raise my salary and be promoted. Although I still have not achieved that six-digit salary and a room of my own, I am satisfied with my career in the industrial setting and a new goal has been planted which is to also start a new path in the clinical setting.

My decision to work and study at the same time makes me realize things that I did not imagine I can do or can think of. Although it can be exhausting, I would rather choose this than a life with what-ifs and should haves. I have also included other realizations that I have had ever since I started working. There might be those who will disagree, but these are some I hold on to right now. 

1. What you are now is different from what you were before.

2. Your goals will change. 

3. Never compare yourself to others. 

4. Your college friends will be your college friends. They will be busy and it is okay to meet them only once or twice a year.

5. The stress level of a student is nothing compared to one who is experiencing quarter life crisis.

6. Your career may not be in line with your degree and it is okay as long as you are okay with it.

7. It is normal that finding a job is difficult.

8. Everyone will love and hate you at the same time.

9. Be yourself. But sometimes, it is best not to be too open to others.

10. Seminars are really helpful. 

11. Do not just settle on what life will give you. Sometimes, it is best to chase life. 

12. Your grades and the school you chose may help you have a job, but it will never define what you can do in the future.

13. Work but do not forget to rest and enjoy your salary once in a while.

14. You are getting old…so are your parents, grandparents, and other relatives. 

Working alone will never make one rich. Take a break and spend some time with your loved ones. Make time for yourself. Know what matters most and from there you will realize how wealthy you are.

Leave a comment